Whitefish Review reads submissions for fiction, non-fiction, essay, poetry, visual art of all kinds, and photography. The next general submission period opens on Jan. 1, 2023.

12/5/22: We are in the final review of "Into the Unknown" thank you for your patience. We will have notifications out by 12/15/22.

OPEN

2023 Montana Prize for Fiction

Once a year, Whitefish Review offers a $1000 prize, winner-takes-all, for the best story submitted to our fiction contest, judged by author Rick Bass.

Submissions open Oct 1, 2022 - Feb 1, 2023.

CLOSED

#28 (Into the Unknown...)

Submissions closed on September 30, 2022.

Anticipated publication: February 2022

No one knows... what comes next. Neither do we. Send us your best work and help us shed some light. Publication in winter/spring 2023 issue (Dec 2022)

Whitefish Review publishes art and literature that explores the landscapes of the human condition, our connection to the natural world, and illuminates how the confluence of art and science alongside the complex issues of our planet and people is vital for the health of all beings.

OUR MOST RECENT WORK

Vortex - (Summer/Autumn 2022)

Publication: June 2022

After taking flight, the winds begin to spin. The air whirls in a circular motion that forms a vacuum in the center. On the river, we call this an eddy, the water swirling back upstream counter to the main current, forming a whirlpool. Inside these center spaces, there is calm. Let’s explore circles. What is lost and what is found. Coming together.

Please purchase a copy or become a subscriber and help keep this beautiful venture afloat.

FUNDRAISING

Whitefish Review accepts tax-deductible donations to keep our beautiful adventure afloat.

Author Rick Bass serves as the judge for Whitefish Review's annual fiction prize.

The first-place (and only) winner of the fiction award will receive $1,000 and be published in issue #29 to be released in summer/fall 2023. All submissions will be considered for publication, but only one story will be awarded the prize.

There is no theme restriction. (Deadline Feb 15)

Says Rick: "I'm so hungry for good stories, I will simply choose the best submission regardless of theme. That said, Shakespeare reported that all literature is about loss....so the odds are that the winning story will look at loss in some way. But who knows? Surprise me. What makes me smile when I read a good story? The basics. Beauty. Attentiveness. Crystalline specificity in an era of great uncertainty. The basics. Hold the adverbs.”

Rick Bass is the author of over thirty books of fiction and nonfiction. His newest book is The Traveling Feast: On the Road and at the Table with America’s Finest Writers (Little, Brown & Co: 2018). He is a founding board member of the Yaak Valley Forest Council (www.yaakvalley.org) and also teaches in the University of Southern Maine’s Stonecoast MFA Program.

His novel, All the Land to Hold Us, received France’s Prix Laure Bataillon for the best book translated to French, and his memoir, Why I Came West, was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award.  

Bryan Woolley of the Dallas Morning News  said, "Probably no American writer since Hemingway has written about man-in-nature more beautifully or powerfully than Rick Bass."

He lives in Montana’s Yaak Valley. rickbass.net

  Submission Fee: $22

Submission Information

  → Prose should be typed double-spaced in 12-point Times font.

  → Submit one (1) previously unpublished story under 7000 words per entry.

***IMPORTANT***

  1. Mac users, please be sure you save your file so the filename includes the ".pdf", ".doc", ".docx", or ".rtf" file extension.

  2. PLEASE NAME YOUR DOCUMENT USING THIS STANDARD

      → File Naming Standard: "fictionprize_your last name_titleofwork.doc"

Whitefish Review