Whitefish Review reads submissions for fiction, non-fiction, essay, poetry, visual art of all kinds, and photography. We generally announce a theme before each submission period. 


OPEN

2022 Montana Prize for Fiction
Author Rick Bass serves as the judge for this annual $1000 prize.
Submissions open: October 1, 2021 – February 15, 2022

Publication in summer/fall 2022 (September 2022)

ON HOLD

2022 Montana Prize for Humor
The judging team includes Jimmy Kimmel and Huey Lewis.

$1000 in prize money ($500 per category)
Submissions open: February 15, 2022 - June 15, 2022

Publication in winter/spring 2023 issue (February 2023)

CLOSED

Our general submission period is now closed. Our next submission period is January 1, 2022 - March 31, 2022. We have not yet announced a theme.

Vortex - (Winter/Spring 2021-22)

Publication: February 2022

After taking flight, the winds begin to spin. The air whirls in a circular motion that forms a vacuum in the center. On the river, we call this an eddy, the water swirling back upstream counter to the main current, forming a whirlpool. Inside these center spaces, there is calm. Let’s explore circles. What is lost and what is found. Coming together.

Submissions were open until September 30, 2021. (Two-week grace period extension iwas n effect until Oct. 14, 2021.)

OUR MOST RECENT WORK

Our most recent published issue "Taking Flight" (summer/fall 2021, issue #26) is available, as well as back issues. Please purchase a copy or become a subscriber and help keep this beautiful venture afloat.

Author Rick Bass serves as the judge for Whitefish Review's annual fiction prize.

The first-place (and only) winner of the fiction award will receive $1,000 and be published in issue #28 to be released in summer/fall 2022. All submissions will be considered for publication, but only one story will be awarded the prize.

There is no theme restriction.  Deadline Feb 1. (Grace period through Feb 15).

Says Rick: "I'm so hungry for good stories, I will simply choose the best submission regardless of theme. That said, Shakespeare reported that all literature is about loss....so the odds are that the winning story will look at loss in some way. But who knows? Surprise me. What makes me smile when I read a good story? The basics. Beauty. Attentiveness. Crystalline specificity in an era of great uncertainty. The basics. Hold the adverbs.”

Rick Bass is the author of over thirty books of fiction and nonfiction. His newest book is The Traveling Feast: On the Road and at the Table with America’s Finest Writers (Little, Brown & Co: 2018). He is a founding board member of the Yaak Valley Forest Council (www.yaakvalley.org) and also teaches in the University of Southern Maine’s Stonecoast MFA Program.

His novel, All the Land to Hold Us, received France’s Prix Laure Bataillon for the best book translated to French, and his memoir, Why I Came West, was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award.  

Bryan Woolley of the Dallas Morning News  said, "Probably no American writer since Hemingway has written about man-in-nature more beautifully or powerfully than Rick Bass."

He lives in Montana’s Yaak Valley. rickbass.net

  Submission Fee: $20

Submission Information

  → Prose should be typed double-spaced in 12-point Times font.

  → Submit one (1) previously unpublished story under 7000 words per entry.

***IMPORTANT***

  1. Mac users, please be sure you save your file so the filename includes the ".pdf", ".doc", ".docx", or ".rtf" file extension.

  2. PLEASE NAME YOUR DOCUMENT USING THIS STANDARD

      → File Naming Standard: "fictionprize_your last name_titleofwork.doc"

Whitefish Review